There Is Only One Race: The Human Race

Happy 37th Day in Lent! Happy Siblings Day!

I’ve been looking at the April calendar. I see a lot of birthdays celebrations in my family. I come from a large family. I’m the youngest of 19 and fourth daughter. We siblings have the same parents.

I can say that I’ve been an Auntie and sister-in-law since I was born. Also I’ve been a 2nd Great Auntie for since 2011. I can’t recall how many nieces and nephews etc. I have. I lost track. I’m thankful for my parents and the family lineage God blessed me with.

Today, April 10, 2014 marks the 50th Anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. When I was born I didn’t have any civil rights. I was a year and two days old in 1964. America has come a long ways. We have a long ways to go. We shall over come more and more. Lord, have mercy on us. And forgive us.

Another Note: Family History
A cousin share with me what happened to her father back in Dec of 1964. He was going somewhere and “a ran into a drunk white man who didn’t like him because of the racial tensions at the time …..her father tried to walk away and the man came back to him with a gun….this cousin put his hands in the air… (her father’s) last words were “So this is how you want it to be.” the other man shot him to death.”

There was a lot of tension of the Civil Rights era. I have heard some the sad stories of that time. And still stories of similar things now days. Racism is still alive. Lord, have mercy.

I’m thankful for the people who see all people as humans. We are all created in the image of God. We all come the same lineage of Adam and Eve. Oh, how humanity can get ahold of this. There is only one race. The Human Race that God created.

May we respect one another. May we get along with one another. May the Lord have mercy on all of us. Amen.

Thanks for reading.
Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in Family History, Lent, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Is Only One Race: The Human Race

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Yes, Susan—let’s just try to get along. My view of the world and limited view of history is that no one gets along–people or nations. However, it is nice that our country has made some progress in treating minorities and women more fairly. I may be a little jaded. Rom 3:23 applies to all, so all are infected with this spiritual malady and it will express itself in life and history. In my lifetime there was WW2–millions were killed around the world.

    I think MLK did a lot of good four our country. I went through interesting history—minorities and women protesting for equal treatment under the law.

    I love your sentiment, and hope our nation continues to improve.

    blessings

    frank

    • Susan says:

      Thanks for your comment Frank! And I hope our nation continues to improve too, Let Freedom Ring! Hope you’re having a great weekend. Stormy weather is coming our way. It was in the 80’s today. Blessings, Susan

Leave a Reply

