12 Years, A Greeter

Happy 174th Day of 2014!

I celebrated my 12th year as a greeter at church this past weekend. I became a greeter on Friday, June 21, 2002. I’ve been blessed over the years. I’ve met a lot of people.

I will admit that in the first couple of weeks, I wanted to give it up. I felt out-of-place. It was strange. But, through time and learning new things along the journey, I stuck with it.

It has been an honor to greet the people over the years. I’m thankful for the gift that God has given me. I pray that I will continue to be that light that God has called me to be.

As I look back over the years, I see the good of being a greeter.
It’s a good ministry to be a part of.
The greeters are the first impression of the church.
I’ve met so many wonderful people.

I started out greeting before every church gathering. That was every Friday night and Sunday morning. Sunday gathering with to two services in Oct of 2002 to June of 2014. I’ve been greeting only on Sunday for a while.

When life changes so do some things. I felt led to slow down as a greeter. I’m slowing down even more this year. We went back to one gathering on Sunday. I can say that I’ve been a faithful greeter since I become one. I hardly ever missed.

Also I can say that it has been a challenge at time greeting people. There are times when I need God’s wisdom to deal with people. I’m thankful for the leading of the Holy Spirit. Thank You, Lord.

There are things that come with the territory.
I’m not speaking bad or negative about people.
Here are some of my thoughts.
One of the sadness things about greeting is when people don’t want to be greeted. They appear rude and out of place. It’s like they don’t want to be bothered. They are in their own little world. I’ve learn things when I greet people who are that way.

I pray that the Holy Spirit will bring healing to people who aren’t comfortable when they are greeted. It’s so sad to see that. I focus on the people who are welling to be greeted.


My greeting journey continues.

When life changes there are changes that bring more challenges.
And as that happens, I remind myself to celebrate my milestones.

May we learn to celebrate and recognize our anniversaries.
May the Lord grant us His wisdom to do what He has called us to do.
May we see the good of what we do as we minister to others.
Amen.

Thanks for reading.

Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in ChurchLife, Family History, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 12 Years, A Greeter

  1. chmjr2 says:

    I could never be a greeter, I just do not have it in me. Also our church does not have greeters. I can understand the people who shy away from greeters. If I do not know the person all I want is a simple hello, good morning, or something like that. I have attended churches that have very out going greeters. I admit that I snuck by them by using other people as a shield. However you should be proud of those 12 years. I am sure that your church is a better place because of your efforts.

    • Susan says:

      Thanks for your chmjr2. We greeters try to welcome people into the house of the LORD. Greeting works both ways. When I greet, I feel as I being greeted as well. But when people turn away and don’t want to be greeted, it leaves an impression. I know at times we don’t feel like greeting others for our own reason. We have to except others wishes. As we greet it shines the light of Christ when we greet one another as sisters and brothers. I do believe that I’m shining the light of Christ in the church where I’m planted. It’s the love of God that we should see in one another. There may be people who don’t receive hugs or hear good words of encouragement until they come to church. And as for those greeters who are not out going, perhaps you can greet them. Bring the light of God into their world. 🙂 Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

