Reflections On The Great Flood of 93

Happy 214th Day of 2014!

The dog days of Summer is here.
I was reading some of my old blogs.
It was a scary time in my life.
Thankful that God brought us through.

Thanks for reading,
Susan

Notes: Wednesday, 30 July 2008 ~ Reflections: On The Great Flood of ’93

Last month as I was watching the news, I was praying. I was witnessing some of the Great Flood of 2008 in the mid section on the U.S. A. It brought back memories of the flood we went through in ’93. It happened 15 years ago this month.

As I saw the 2008 flooding, I saw all that water on the land. A lot of homes / buildings were lost. People have to rebuild their lives. I have not seen any thing like this flood.

During the early part of July in 1993, I recall these words came to my ears. I was listening to the weather radio. “Periods amount of rain in the forecast.” I stopped what I was doing.

I was thinking to myself out loud, “that sounds like a flood.” One of my nephews over heard me. He said “you think too much.”

I continued to pray about what I heard. The rain came. The surrounding areas were being flooded. I ask God who is going to help us if we are flooded?

When the flood hit, (my city) it was on National News. Some parts of KS (where I was living near by) was flooded out. The story had it that the levee was blow up so that the South end of St. Joe would not be flooded.

We made it through the flood. We were helped. It was hard for me. I was so worried.

The water that came in 2008 was more than the water of ’93. That E. KS had high waters again. But thank God the River did not go over into the city.

This just came to me. We had a flood last year too. All this water is coming each year. That is so strange. And the rain is still coming. There are flood warnings again.

My heart went out for the people in the areas that had flooding this Summer. The thought of large amounts of water and other disasters coming. They come so quickly. God protect us from such events.

I pray that we are prepared for things that come. May God give us the strength to go through whatever comes our way. God is our shield in the storms of life.

Heavenly Father, make me grateful for all of Your gifts– those that come as I have planned, as well as those that come in Your own time. –Jon Sweeney

There are many plans in a man’s heart, Nevertheless the LORD’s counsel –that will stand. NKJV Proverbs 19:21

God has spoken once, Twice I have heard this: That power belongs to God. Also to You, O Lord, belongs mercy; For You render to each one according to his work. NKJV Psalm 62:11-12

Every word of God is pure; He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him. NKJV Proverbs 30:5

From 94 Confessions For Life And Strength ~ Day 40

In Jesus’ name, I ask for life and strength!
He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water. NKJV John 7:38

On This 212nd Day / Cheesecake Day Kiss Your Car Day / Father In Law Day / Last Mid Weekday of July ’08

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in ChurchLife, Family History, Prayer, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Scripture, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

