Roots And My Roots

I’ve been watching the TV series “Roots”. I watched it when it first appeared in 1977 when I was a young teenager. I was glued to the TV then.

Now, as I’m in my early 50’s, I wanted to watch it again. My view as an adult was overwhelmed by the things that was on TV. I thought back then, it was something.

It’s sad to see how slavery was in the days. I know it was worst than what Hollywood could ever show on TV. Slavery was apart of the American life.

There was a lot I don’t know about my family history when I first watch “Roots.”  The series did inspire me to want to learn more about my family history. And so I started searching.

It’s been a long journey. I have made a lot of discoveries along the way. I thought I would never discover what part of Africa my ancestors. And so I thought.

It took my a while to want to take the DNA test. I finally did in October 2014. It didn’t take long to get my results back.  I don’t know how the test came know where my people came from.

On October 24, 2014, I received my results. And I was stock to discover what I did. I’m 73 % African and about 24%  European…3% other.  I was to believe that there was some American Indian blood in my family lineage. It appears not to be the case.

I’m happy to know that I’m was created by the glory of God. Whatever my genetic makeup is, was known before hand. I thank God for my heritage.

May the LORD put it on our heart to be thankful for our heritage. May we learn where our ancestors came from. May we continue to leave a legacy for the generations to come. Amen.

Thanks for reading.
Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in Family History, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

