Enjoying The Season Of Searching For My Family History

I don’t get much time to search my family history. However, when I do, I enjoy the time that I have.  I’m so thankful when I find new things when I return on my journey.

Recently, I’ve been reviewing some of what compiled over the years. I’ve been searching for more clues. And I’m finding out more.  I can forget where people fit in on the family tree. I have to look up who’s who.

Indeed, my quest to know more about my family history has been a chore in the exploring. But, I think that it’s well worth the adventure. I’ve been seeing what I’ve accomplished over the years. I’m glad that I have a paper trail to follow.

Yes, I’m still on the quest for more things on my family’s lineage. I hope to find out more. And come across my family connections. Where to search next? I don’t know. One thing I know for sure, it’s a lifetime journey that I’m on.

May we want to learn more about our ancestors. May we pass down what we know or heard about our family history. May we leave a legacy for the future generations. Amen.

Thanks for reading.
Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in Family History, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Enjoying The Season Of Searching For My Family History

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    My brother was very interested in this and traced us back 1,000 years—British.

  2. Let me know if you need help researching a specific topic or place. I read a ton of genealogy blogs, and would be happy to share resource ideas with you.

    • Susan says:

      Thanks! I feel like a beginning. But I’ve been searching since the 1980’s. You have such creative ideas. I’ve trying to discover things…I’m trying to locate Hew Davis Plantation in Woodville,MS. I googled and it’s not listed. The name of the Plantation much have been changed. Perhaps, Hew was a nickname. I think this Davis was related to Jefferson Davis. I’m not for sure. I have my Great Grandfather Isaac Blakey’s Civil War pension records. That how I discovered where my Great Grandma Martha Scott Blakey passed on that plantation after giving birth to twin sons. The one twin that lived was my Grandpa John BLAKEY / Blakley.

      • I’ll reach out to my blogger friends who specialize in American slave and southern plantation ancestry records. They should have some resources to help. If not, I’ll be at Rootstech next week, and between the LDS family history library and networking, I will help you find some quality resources to investigate. When we know who we came from, it can help us better understand who we are, and who we can become.

      • Susan says:

        Thank you. I believe that there is more on my ancestors. I know the names of the former slave owners…the estate was in probate. List the slaves. I don’t know where to search for the bill of slave. Which slave went where? Isaac went south to MS. That’s were he became a free man and joined the MS Union Army.

      • Susan says:

        Thanks. I’ll look here.

  3. There is a whole section for Mississippi with links to information on the family search website. They have partnered with Ancestry to share more documents without subscription fees.

    My friend True is working extensively to record names as part of the slave roll project. Most of the slaves on census records were recorded by age and gender, but nothing more. (There is a movement to collect and record the names as people find them in wills of white slave holding ancestors. Publishing the names and physical descriptions is extremely important. )
    I get to meet True next week. This is her blog. She’s recorded a lot about her journey to uncover her roots.

    http://mytrueroots.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

