Making More Discoveries By Using the World Wide Web: My Family Connections

Ever since I made the connection with the internet, I started searching for the things I like. I grow in understanding some things. I was drawn to know more about my family history.

In the beginning as I kept finding things on my family history, I was led to a website. At first I didn’t want to try it. But, I decided take a step to further my research.

I became a member of  Ancestry.com on June 20, 2007. They offered a 14 day trail run. I went for it. And I got hooked.

I was on this site every day. I  began to find more on my family tree. Through the years I built my family connections. I continue to search and find new clues.

I know it costs to be on ancestry.com. If you’re wanting to find your family connections, you have to pay for it. Also it’s good to share what you know with others.

There are a lot of private family tree on ancestry.com.  I’m thankful for the ones that are made public. There should be anything to hide when family members have gone on. That’s public info.

I know that there are free website to search for family connections. I use them too. We need a variety of sources to make our family history complete.  We need people to share what they know.

May we not be afraid to share what we know about our family connections.
May we build our family history.
May we persevere what we know about our ancestors for future generations.
Amen.

Thanks for reading.
Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in Faith, Family History, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making More Discoveries By Using the World Wide Web: My Family Connections

  1. chmjr2 says:

    I agree that we should share our family genealogy and I do share what I have. However my tree on ancestry is kept private for many reasons. I have never turned anyone away that asked for info from my tree. I wish I could say the same for all the times I have asked. One reason I keep my tree private is so someone cannot come in and take all my info without giving me a chance to meet them and perhaps find out a few things they may know that would help me. Since I have started this blog I have found pictures that I have posted all over the internet that were taken and used without my permission or giving me credit. I do not think a little credit is too much to ask. As always I enjoy your blog and look forward to the next one. Also I too find ancestry wonderful and have many times gone on for a quick search and then to discover I had been on for hours.

    • Susan says:

      Thanks for your comment. That’s so sad when people use photos with out asking. I know the feeling. About searching for ancestors, I get lost. I find so much I don’t want to stop. Best wishes to you on your search.

Leave a Reply

