Glory Be To God! ~ 14 Years A Church Greeter At Word Of Life

AsvWhy did I become a  volunteer greeter at WOLC?  A friend asked me. She was needing more greeters… She told me to pray about it first.  Indeed, I did pray. I also asked some of the friend, what they thought it. They told me, I would make  good greeter.

I listened to what my friends shared with me. I prayed about it. And  then I decided to give greeting a try on the first day of Summer, June 21, 2002.  It was on a Friday night.

To be honest with you, at first, I didn’t like  what I was doing at all. Greeting people wasn’t my thing. I felt uncomfortable. I felt people didn’t want me to greet them. I was about to give it up in my second week.

But, somehow I stick with it. There were some friends who knew me. They would come to me. They made me feel comfortable. I felt welcomed. I continued greeting.

In my early days, I greeted every single church gathering. I met a lot of people along the journey.  Then through the years, I started to slow down. I thought that is was a wise thing to do. I need breaks from time to time.

Now, as I look back at my greeting years, I’m thankful for all the people in whom I’ve met. Some have gone on the other places, some have gone on to be with the LORD and some are still wanting to be greeted when we meet. Greeting works both ways.

In any case, all the people I’ve met, have enriched my Christian walk. In one way or another, I believe that God places people in our lives. We are shaped by situations; by what comes into our lives and the people in whom we meet.

May we want to greet one another, no matter where we are in life.
May the Spirit of the LORD bring people into our lives to enrich us and encourage us.
May we be a shining light for God in the place where He sends us.
Amen!

Thanks for reading.
Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in ChurchLife, Faith, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

