What Have I Learned By Being A Church Greeter? Respect

It’s an honor to be a witness for God. I’m thankful to be a volunteer church greeter. Last Tuesday, I entered into my 14th year …being a greeter at Word Of Life. I’ve learned many things along my journey. Oh! What a life, being a church greeter.

What are the privileges of being a greeter? Greeters welcome and meet people before the gathering. They help others feel at home. Greeters are caring and show  acts of kindness. All  are loved by God. Thank God for greeters.

As for me, each week can be a challenge. I do what I can. I’m thankful for the people who  want to be greeted. This is a good feeling to received. The love of God is in people.

Then on the other hand, there are some who are, well. It’s like they are in their own little world. They can appear to be rude at times. When this happens this a good time to pray. Lord, forgive those who walk by with little interest in wanting to be welcome.  Oh, Lord, forgive them for they know not what they do.

Through years of experience, I tend to be drawn to the people who make eye contact. It’s the wise thing to do. Once there is an eye contact, then the door is open to welcome people in. Thank You, Jesus!

Don’t get me wrong. I have had some unusual situations.  There are people who have made eye contact and have gone another way. Or they could be a hand shake away and walk right by me. What is a greeter to do? Lord, forgive them for they know not what they do.

Also, I’ve learned not to judge people. I don’t know what people are going through when they come to church. Nor do people know what I’m going through. I feel that we should relate to one another. Greeters are human too. We all are not prefect people.

Well, I can say, I’ve greeted thousands of people over the 14 years. And within this time span, I have learned to greet people in a manner of respect. At times, I have been accused of being rude. And on the other hand. Yes, I’ve greeted people who appeared to be rude. Still, I have chosen to respect them. Lord, have mercy on us.

May we honor one another while we greet.
May we learn from one another.
May we be a shinning light wherever God sends us.
Amen!

Thanks for reading.
Susan

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in ChurchLife, Faith, Prayer, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Have I Learned By Being A Church Greeter? Respect

  1. Chris Walker says:

    Good lessons to share. As my family searches for a new home church, I’m running into all sorts of new lessons for greeters

Leave a Reply

