15th Year Mile Marker: As A Church Volunteer Greeter

Here are five of my greeter’s badges. I had to get a replacement for the big green one. It was the only one I lost in 15 years.

It’s been that long! Oh, how time flies. I enjoy gathering with the church. Specially, when it comes the time for me to greet. I’ve been blessed to have met tons of people over the years.

What an experience to welcome people into the gathering as the church. It’s more than about greeting. We meet and welcome one other as we minster. It’s nice feeling.

We should let people know that they are always welcome. We don’t know what people are going through. We should be a light to them. We are the expression of God’s love to the world in which we are planted in.

Through my years of welcoming people, I’ve learned at that there are people would loved to be greeted. They are the sweetest and kind people. They find their ways to come and greet. Oh, God continue to bless them.

Then there are people who are not as much into being greeted. I’ve learned to smile or and wave at times, it they look in my direction. I know that we all are different. I try to make others feel comfortable. I pray too.

And there are those who walk by as though I’m not there, some times I speak. And other times I ask the LORD is bless them. We can be in our own little world at times and don’t bother to acknowledge those in our pathway. LORD, forgive us.

As I look back over my greeting journey, I took a leave of absent from August 14, 2016 through January 2017. I was caring for a relative. In all, I’m thankful that I have had the opportunity to minister to people as we gather as the church. God places people in our pathway for a reason. May we greet one another in love and with honor.

Happy Summer!
Stay CoOL!

Thanks for reading.
God bless you.
S. A. Blakley

“For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.” Psalm 84:10

About Susan

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Warrior: On Twitter , Facebook ~ Journal on Xanga under the username of Journaling_Susan
This entry was posted in ChurchLife, Faith, Nature, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Scripture, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

