Storytellers Spoke of Miss Oressia and Her Sister Jane #52Ancestors In Week 25

I’m thankful for storytellers. I have spoken with two ladies who happened to be sister in laws. They both mentioned to me about a lady by the name of Oressia who would visit her sister Jane in Kansas City. And Jane would come to Forest Green, Missouri to visit Oressia. But, the ladies couldn’t recall Jane’s surname They knew that Jane passed in Kansas City.

I wondered what became of Jane. So, I sought out and started searching for her as Jane White. However, I couldn’t find anything about her, only what was on the 1900 census. So, I started searching for Oressia Hereford. And oh what discoveries I found during this process!

I’ve been discovering other family connections while I’ve been searching for Oressia. She was the daughter of Mrs. Martha ” Mattie” White. Oressia’s her father was Robert Hereford.

As I said, I have discovered a lot of other people by searching for Oressia. She had a very unique first name and her surname was spelled other ways too. Here is an article that was published on page 12 in The Call Kansas City, Missouri  on Friday, August 9, 1935.

This article is another jewel that’s bringing my family connections to life. I’ve added more information. from this article; Mrs. Jane “Janie” Anna (Herfard) Wiley Nance of Kansas City and her son Melvin WILEY Nance. Bill must have been Melvin’s nickname or middle name. He took on the Nance surname. Mrs. Mattie “Mat” White was Jane’s and Oressia’s mother.

Yes, the many names of Oressia that I came across while searching the newspapers. Miss Oressia P. Hereford was her name. Here are the other ways that her first name and surname were spelled printed in the newspaper and other records: Oressie, Oressa, Odesda, Pressia , Pressie, Aressia, O. Heryford and O..P. Heryford.

Oressia’s surname was spelled Hereford. And here are some other ways it was spelled Herford, Herriford , Herryford, Heryford, Hayward and Haywood. What other ways to spell that surname?

Thanks for reading.
Storytellers Spoke of Miss Oressia and Her Sister Jane:
I’m thankful for Irene and Helen. God bless them.

Oressie was Oressia’s nickname. And Jane or Janie went by Louise Nance at times.
R.I.P. cousin Oressie and Janie

God bless
S.A. Blakley

Week 25 ~ Amy Johnson Crow’s #52Ancestors in 52 weeks Challenge in 2024

The theme for Week 25 is “Storyteller.” Genealogy is more than names and dates. It’s the story of our family. It seems like every family has a storyteller, whether it’s Uncle Pete with his tall tales or Grandma Adah who quietly told stories of growing up in the early 1900s. Who is the storyteller in your family?

About Susan Ann Blakley

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Survivor: On Twitter , Facebook , Instagram
This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks, Family History, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storytellers Spoke of Miss Oressia and Her Sister Jane #52Ancestors In Week 25

  1. Barb LaFara says:

    Storyteller’s must run in your family… 😊 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment