Mrs. Emma Brown: Who Were Rachel, Milly and Lotty? ~ #52Ancestor In Week 17

On the United States, Freedmen’s Bureau Records, 1865 – 1878 there was a Mrs. Emma Brown. She was the widow on Filia Brown and she was receiving Filia’s pension. On April 24, 1873, she received $191.50. She was living in Quincy, Illinois. (I haven’t located any additional information on Emma nor her husband. I continue to search.)

On the record, there were three witness who identify Emma.. Their names were as followed ; Rachel Green , Milly Harden and Lottie Lankford. The crop photo was where the list the names appeared on the United States, Freedmen’s Bureau Records : Event Type Military Service ~ Claim Date 29 April 1873 ~ Claim ~ Place: St. Louis, Missouri, USA.


Who were the three ladies who identified Emma Brown?

Who was Rachel. Green?


I wonder if Rachel could had been a relatives. Maybe Emma’s mother, an aunt or another relative? I couldn’t locate any additional information on Rachel Green.. Perhaps she lived in St. Louis, Missouri or in Quincy Illinois. I continue to search.

Who was Milly Harden?

I was wondering if this Milly Harden was Mildred Dade Hardin . I came across a Millie Dade as I was searching the censuses for Dades in Lewis County Missouri. I discovered that this Millie was the wife of Louis Hardin and the mother of seven.

This Millie” Mildred Hardin passed in May 16, 1909 in Canton, Missouri. She was well known in Canton. She was buried in Forest Grove Cemetery. Some of my DADE Family Connections were buried there.

I didn’t know who Millie was until, I began to search. I discovered her living by Japlin Dade and his wife Nancy on the 1900 census in Canton, Missouri. I was thinking that she was related to the Dades .

Who was Lotty Lankford?

This name rung a bell when I saw it. I came across this Lottie Lankford while I was searching for Joseph and Ann Dade’s son John Dade who was in the military. Ironically, John was John HUME (1844 – 1864). He was listed twice on the same page as Lotty Lankford and the two other ladies. His parents were receiving his pension.

How interesting that I came across Lotty Lankford. I have a Great Grandmother Charlotta Dade Lankford / Lankfard.. She went by Lottie Lankford. Lottie married Lewis Lankford aka Robert Louis Lankford on January of 1873 in Canton, Missouri. Lottie was well known in Canton. She was the mother of 11.

At first Milly Harden was unknown to me when I discovered the name of Lottie Lankford. However it click when I knew something about Millie Harden.. It was when I started searching for Milly and came back to this source, something clicked in me. I still wonder. I hope to make some more progress.

Thanks for reading.
Mrs. Emma Brown: Who Were Rachel, Milly and Lotty?

God bless you.
S.A.Blakley

Week 17 ~ Amy Johnson Crow’s #52Ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge for 2024
The theme for Week 17 is “War.” One would be hard pressed to find someone whose family history was not touched by war. This week, consider someone in your family tree who was affected by war, whether as a soldier or a civilian.

About Susan Ann Blakley

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Survivor: On Twitter , Facebook , Instagram
This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks, Family History, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment