The Jesus Prayer

I was thinking about Prayer.
Thanks for reading and praying
The Jesus Prayer,
Stay On The Journey,
Susan

Here are Notes From Wednesday, 15 October 2008
The Jesus Prayer
I thank Jesus for praying His prayers to God, the Father. I thank God that Jesus praying for me. All is well with me. I am doing good. I’ve been slowing down.

Believing that the Lord is doing good for you too. Peace and grace to all. Take care.

P.S.
It’s a bit chilly outside. I am layered down. I got the joy of the LORD. It’s the season of joy.

The Jesus Prayer:Jesus taught us how to pray to our Father according to Matthew 6 and in Luke 11. I’ve been praying the Lord’s prayer. Better yet, I’ve been singing it. I even started to learn how to sign the prayer. We should pray the prayers from the heart and with meaning.

Last Friday, (Oct of 2008) Pastor Brian (Zahnd) preached and taught on “The Jesus Prayer.” Text Luke 11:1-4 Matthew 6:9-13 and Act 2:42-43 and mentioned Revelation 21:22. The Jesus Prayer is the cornerstone of Christian prayer.

Luke 11: 2-6 and (Matthew 6:9-13 )
I combined KJV and NKJV

Our Father who art in heaven,
Hallowed by Thy name.
Thy kingdom come,
Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
And (as we) forgive our (debtors) sins
For we also forgive everyone who sinned against us.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.
(For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory forever.
Amen.)

I noticed that we are praying this prayer in church more. We sung this prayer as a version of Pastor Eric’s composition from Matthew 6 KJV. I’ve heard other versions of the Lord’s Prayer.

Here is some of what I jotted down from PBZ’s message.

Our Father who art in heaven….

1. We pray in the plural because we are called into a community.

Hallowed be Thy name…

2. To address God as Abba is a radical invitation given to us by Jesus.

Thy kingdom come….

3. Our Father inhabits the heavens–the other dimension of creation.

Thy will be done….

4. The in-breaking of God’s kingdom is the heart of Jesus’ prayer.

On earth as it is in heaven….

5. We pray from heaven and earth to be one again in a holy marriage.

Give us our daily bread….

6. From a global scale we move to the personal level–daily bread.

Forgive us….

7. We end the cycle of revenge by ? intuitive the cycle of forgiveness.

Lead us not into….

8. We pray to be lead in ways that avoid trouble and temptation.

Deliver us from evil…

9. We pray for protection from evil, the evil one in spirit, soul and body.

For thine is the kingdom….

10.We close the prayer with the ancient ? oxtho-doctrinal ending in glorifying God.

Amen.

This could be a list on how to pray. But it’s not meant to be that way. Pray the Lord’s prayer in faith with ?intensity then you will pray well.

The Lord’s Prayer is a prayer to keep us on track. We should pray the prayers with meaning. Pastor Brian challenged us to pray the Lord’s Prayer daily. It would be something to pray this prayer at least once or 5 times a day.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting. NKJV Psalm 139:23-24

The sacrifice of the wicked is an abomination of the LORD, but the prayer of the upright is His delight. NKJV Proverbs 15:8

The Jesus Prayer

May the day come when Jesus is satisfied when heaven and earth are one.
May we pray the prayer that Jesus prayed to our Father.

God Bless.
Have A Enriching Day!

About Susan Ann Blakley

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Survivor: On Twitter , Facebook , Instagram
This entry was posted in ChurchLife, Prayer, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Jesus Prayer

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Thanks, Susan for this teaching. Praying like Jesus is wonderful. I love His prayer int John 17.

    Like

    • Susan says:

      You’re welcome Frank. I’m more into prayer this year. Looking at the prayers in The Book of Common Prayer; Prayer for the week and prayers of Jesus. We got to pray.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Vertrouwen, Geloof, Roepen en Toeschrijving aan Jehovah #11 Gebed #9 Heiliging van Dé Naam | Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

    • Susan says:

      Thanks for your comment Vertrouwen..God the Father is watching over His children. So thankful that Jesus is praying for us all. With Jesus on our minds, All is well. It’s good to slow down and be still.

      Peace of God be with you.
      Susan

      Like

  3. Pingback: Day 300: Luke 10-11; Learning to Pray | Overisel Reformed Church

Leave a comment