Favorite Discovery: Blakey WHITE Family #52Ancestors 52 Weeks

During the Summer of 2008, I was searching for information on my Great Grandfather, Isaac Blakey on ancestry.com.  I had no luck,  locating him on the 1870 and 1880 censuses. Then, I had a thought to type in Isaac White.  I searched and searched. Then one day, I came to some discovery that I didn’t expect.

It was on June 28, 2008, I made the discovered that my Great Grandmother, Julia (Finney) White was on the 1880 census. Something on the inside of me jumped for joy
when I saw her name on my computer screen. I said out loud, “Thank You, Jesus!”

I started singing and praising God . I keep looking at the screen. I have located my ancestors. What an accomplishment!

Julia White 1880 MO

United States 1880 Federal Census, Chariton Howard County Missouri

I looked at the names that followed after my Great Grandmother, Julia. Her son, my Great Grandpa Isaac, but with the White surname and not Blakey. The other names were familiar too. I thought yes, I have found my ancestors.

I noticed some things about my ancestors lives by reading this census. There were three generations living in one household. The family stayed together.  They were separated at the breaking of the Civil War. They reunited.

I had my heart’s desire to find out who my ancestors were. I am thankful for the leading of the Holy Spirit. I had thought that my Great Grandmother, Julia  had passed by 1880.  There were no family record of who my Great Grandfather’s name was. His name was Andrew White.  I thought the day was on August 7 , 2007.  Mystery Solved.

I thank God for putting the desire in me to search for my family history. May I continue on this search for information by the grace of God. I give God all the glory.

At the time of my new found discoveries in 2008, I was still making new discoveries. And on that past week, I was searching and came across more information through death records and census returns. My mind is wondering. I’m finding more pieces to the puzzle. My quest continues.

Thanks for reading.
Favorite Discoveries: Week 7

God bless you.
S.A. Blakley

About Susan Ann Blakley

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Survivor: On Twitter , Facebook , Instagram
This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks, Family History, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment