Information On Private Isaac Blakey Discovered In Documents ~ Week 17 in 2022

I’ve come across a lot of interesting documents over the years!! I’m thankful for the one on my Great Grandfather Isaac Blakey. Who was Isaac? He was born in 1845 as one of the enslaved in Missouri. He was the son of Andrew White Sr. and Julia (Finney) White.

Isaac received his freedom from bondage as a teenager. During the Civil War, he enlisted in the Union Army in Missiippi on Sunday November 1, 1863 in Natchez. And He was honorable discharged on Sunday, May 13, 1866.

Some of my discoveries about Isaac:
In the 1980’s, I sent off for Isaac BLAKEY’s pension records. I was amazed by what discoveries were in his files. Isaac was listed as Private Isaac BLAKER. There was a treasure’s worth of information in his files.

Through the years, I would go back over and re reread the documents. There were some things I have over looked. I began to make a timeline of events on Isaac’s life. (It takes some time to go through each pages. I need to go through each name and see who the people were on the documents.)

I shared a blog on The Health Of Isaac Blakey: Civil War Wound Isaac received a bayonet wounded to his left leg in the Spring of 1864. The wound was a running sore since then.

“Isaac had poor health as he grew older. He had disease of the leg, varicose veins, kidney disease, heart disease, diabetes, neuralgia, rheumatism and Lord knows what else. He passed on Sunday, Dec 23, 1917 at the age of 72”. He was buried on Christmas Day 1917. He lived with 53 years with that wounded leg. Indeed he endured the pain and was “a strong man.”

Here’s a few pages from this 120 year old documents of Isaac’s wounds. It was described on Wednesday , May 7, 1902. The other document was written on Wednesday February 6, 1901.

I received these colored copies from my DNA cousin Bernice Bennett. I didn’t know that the pension record was in color. I didn’t receive the copy of the colored area of Isaac’s would in the photo. I was so amazed by this.


The surgeon’s certificate was hard for me to make out what was written. Through the years I attempted to read it again and again. This doctors handwriting was wow! This was written on February 6, 1901.



Imagine that this document has been around for 120 + years. The records became a part of my Great Grandfather Isaac’s life which was recorded in American History. All because he was accidently wounded in the leg.

If that injury wouldn’t have happened, Isaac’s life may not have been document in detail. He had to prove who he was and recall things during the Civil War. He couldn’t read or write.

Other Documents about Isaac Blakey:

This recorded information of Isaac, listed him with his parents and siblings in a 1858 newspaper advertisement. The names of the enslaved were recorded in Howard County Missouri probate records.

CLIPPED FROM Glasgow Weekly TimesGlasgow, Missouri11 Feb 1858, Thu  •  Page 2



Isaac Blakey’s death record stating who his father was.
Document source Missouri State Board of Health Bureau of Vital Statistics Certificated of Death.




Some things about viewing documents, they can add more to the story. I have been trying discover who Ed White was in Isaac’s death record. I haven’t. I believe that Ed was related to Isaac. He know about his father Andrew White. But not about Julia.

I have DNA matches with the descendants of Isaac Blakey and Isaac’s brother Richard White. There are other DNA matches on the Blakey WHITE Branch. We’re hoping to discover more on the missing siblings lineage.

Thanks for reading
Information On Private Isaac Blakey Discovered In Documents ~ Week 17 in 2022

God bless you
S.A. Blakley

Week 17: Document ~ Amy Johnson Crow ~ Generation Café #52Ancestors 52 Weeks

“Document” can be a noun or a verb and, as genealogists, we should be using it as both! Perhaps this week you share a neat document you’ve found or write about your efforts to document an ancestor. Feel free to post your links and stories in the comments below.

About Susan Ann Blakley

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Survivor: On Twitter , Facebook , Instagram
This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks, Family History, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Information On Private Isaac Blakey Discovered In Documents ~ Week 17 in 2022

  1. I also wrote about my Civil War Soldier for week 17, but I love how you presented yours. Now, I have to see if I can find an advertisement in the newspaper for the sale of my 2nd great-grandfather. Thanks for sharing. Diane

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Barb LaFara says:

    The medical report you have from Isaac’s pension records is amazing, particularly the color image you received. On the other hand, the advertisement listing Isaac’s family for sale is disturbing. But, putting on a “genealogy hat” the fact the ad lists the family by name it can be viewed as an important source for documenting Isaac’s life. Thanks for sharing these documents and adding to Isaac’s story.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment