The Seasons of Advent And Christmas: Family Traditions ~ Week 50 In 2022

Through the years, some of our family traditions have been altered or done away with altogether. Indeed, we need family traditions. The people in the colorized photo are my Grandpa Leo Sr. and his wife, my Grandma Mary, my mother Lula’s parents. They were in the front room in the family home. The year is unknown. It was before Sept of 1954.


For years, I didn’t notice that there was a Christmas tree in the photo. Oh, the Christmas tree!!! It’s a family traditions to put up our tree before the Advent season.

I remember growing up with the family Christmas tree every year. It was in the front room in front of the big picture window. We had a real Christmas tree. I didn’t like the smell. Thank God for artificial Christmas trees.

I remember my mother love spraying artificial snow on the tree and windows. She would shake that can until all the snow was gone. She was into decorating the home with the Christmas wear.

I don’t know which generation started the tradition. However, it has been past down to us. Family members continue to carry on the Christmas tree decorations for the seasons of Advent and Christmas. Another tradition is to not take the tree down till it’s time in the New Year. I heard that the day after Epiphany is the day to take down the tree and decorations.

I took this photo in December of 2014; in the front room. This is a tradition I started some time ago. I surround the Christmas tree with family members of the past and family members of the present. I’m bringing the generations together.

The top photo is of my Grandparents Mary and Leo Sr. The photo below them is of my parents David Sr. and Lula with their children minus one. The lady in red is my mother, Lula. And the other lady is my Grandpa Leo’s mother Charlotta. Yes, there are stuffed animals around the tree. I have changed up through the years.



Oh, family traditions are a part of our heritage. We should be creative as the years come to pass. We are passing along the legacy to the next generation. May we keep the family alive in our memories as well in seasons of life.

I also have the tradition of hinging up Christmas cards on a wall. It’s seeing the joy from others who celebrate the birth of Jesus. Jesus is the reason for the season.

Thanks for reading.
The Advent And Christmas Seasons: Family Traditions

God bless you.
S.A. Blakley

Week 50: Amy Johnson Crow Generations Café #52Ancestors 52 Week challenges

This week’s theme is “Traditions.” Many families have special traditions for this time of year. This week, write about a tradition that your family enjoys (or doesn’t enjoy!) and the ancestors that it brings to mind. Do you know who started that tradition? Who changed it over the years?


About Susan Ann Blakley

Follower of Jesus Christ, Worshiper, Caregiver, Love Searching Family History, Lupus Survivor: On Twitter , Facebook , Instagram
This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks, Questions, ReflectionsPast, Testimonies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment